Library of Chinese Classics: Romance of the Three Kingdoms

Romance of the Three Kingdoms Library of Chinese ClassicsRomance of the Three Kingdoms (also known as Three Kingdoms) in the five book hardback set from Library of Chinese Classics. This book is in English and simplified Chinese and is a wonderful addition to any library. There are approximately 3080 pages and this set of 5 books was published in 2003. This contains the complete and unabridged Three Kingdoms, preserving faithfully both the style and content of the original text.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms Synopsis

Romance of the Three Kingdoms is one of the Four Great Classical Novels of Chinese literature, probably by Luo Guanzhong. The book is a historical novel based on the events in the years close to the end of the Han Dynasty and in the Three Kingdoms era of Chinese history, starting in 169AD.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms which is part historical, part legend, and part myth chronicles the lives of feudal lords and their retainers, who tried to replace the dwindling Han Dynasty. The novel actually follows literally hundreds of characters but the focus is mainly on the three power blocs that emerged from the remnants of the Han Dynasty, and would eventually form the three states of Cao Wei, Shu Han, and Eastern Wu. The novel deals with the plots, personal and army battles, intrigues, and struggles of these states to achieve dominance for almost 100 years. This novel gives readers a sense of how the Chinese view their history as cyclical rather than linear as many Western historians would believe.

Romance of the Three Kingdoms is part of Library of Chinese Classics and there are over 60 books in the series so far.